These chewy fruit biscuits are brilliant when you want a little something sweet, but not too naughty. They make excellent finger food for babies too.

A couple of months ago I left my daughter Freya in the sports centre crèche whilst I went into the gym. When I went to collect her, I was told she had been given a biscuit. I tried not to react too strongly, but I think they could tell I was a little put out. They quickly assured me the biscuits were gluten-free and dairy-free and were perfectly fine to give to any 6 month old baby. They didn’t mention whether or not the biscuits were sugar-free or even salt-free, so I asked to see the packet.

I can’t remember the exact make of biscuit, but the list of ingredients looked something like this:

Maize Starch, Sugar, Soya Flour, Water, Palm Oil, Sugar Syrup, Salt, Flavourings, Raising Agent: Sodium Hydrogen Carbonate. 

Hmm. There are so many things that bother me about this list of ingredients and I’ll talk about them in future posts, but for now let’s just say I wouldn’t be happy putting these ingredients into my own body, let alone feeding them to a baby.

Freya was booked into the crèche again the very next day so I quickly raced home to come up with an alternative biscuit-type snack to send with her the next day.

I found this recipe. Freya loves them and I quite like them too! No processed food, flour or sugar: just good clean banana and oats. I shared the recipe with a friend who added a couple of chopped prunes to the mix, which made them even tastier. Since then, I’ve tried replacing the banana with mango. The biscuits come out a little bit soggier, but they still hold together and I absolutely love them. Oh, and so does Freya, of course…when I remember to leave any for her!

x

