EatWellChef

By Hank Eder
Eat Well Foods Guest Blogger

Does an apple a day really keep the doctor away? I heard this from my teachers and my mother when I was a boy. Since I really liked the taste and texture of crisp, juicy apples, I accepted this as gospel at the time. Now that my school days are long past, I find myself questioning much of what I once took for granted. What I found out about apples showed me just how right teachers and mothers can be. It seems the humble apple may indeed keep the doctor away.

Apples are rich in antioxidants  and phytonutrients. Back in 2000, researchers from Cornell University discovered that these phytonutrients (or phytochemicals) are responsible for the apple’s incredible antioxidant properties. According to the scientists who conducted the study, some of the phytochemicals are known to be anti-allergenic, some are anti-carcinogenic, anti-inflammatory, anti-viral, anti-proliferative. What…

View original post 271 more words

